5th Contact Allergen Bee



We are pleased to announce the 5th CONTACT ALLERGEN BEE, a contest for dermatology residents sponsored by DERMATITIS.   Winners will be awarded up to $1000 (and up to $2000 in total prizes).

The contest will be held Thursday, March 20, 2014 during the annual meeting of the American Contact Dermatitis Society (ACDS) at the Westin Hotel in Denver, Colorado.   Although not required, we strongly encourage attendance at the meeting in which residents can register at a discounted rate (visit

How to join?   Have your residency director or a faculty in your program who is an ACDS member submit your name, email address, and phone number to no later than February 7, 2014.  You must be a resident in good standing at the time of the contest.  Previous non-winning contestants may rejoin.   Entries are limited to 2 representatives per program.

The contest has 2 phases:   a qualifying round at 10 am consisting of written multiple choice items; and a final round around noon in front of the meeting audience.  Content of questions is based on papers published in DERMATITIS from 2010 through 2013.  

Upon receipt of your official entry, your program will have electronic access to all relevant issues of DERMATITIS.

Please direct questions to Chito Cruz at  We look forward to your participation and potential coronation as King or Queen Bee!


Past winners include:

4th Allergen Bee (Miami, Florida / February 2013)

First Prize

Jill Moore, MD

Honorable Mention

Nita Kohli, MD
Dana Marshall, MD
Mari Paz Castanedo Tardan, MD
Salma Faghri, MD

3rd Allergen Bee (San Diego / March 2012)

Alexander Jack, MD (1st prize)
Bishr Al Dabagh, MD (2nd prize)
Jackie Dosal, MD (3rd prize)
Rayna Dyck, MD (3rd prize)
Nita Kohli, MD (3rd prize)

2nd Allergen Bee (New Orleans/February 2011)

Jennifer Nguyen, MD -  (1st place)
Heather Lampel, MD - (2nd place)
Gretchen Vanderbeek, MD  (3rd place)

Honorable Mentions:
Patrick Dominguez, MD
Aaron Wong, MD
Brian Kim, MD
Amy Helms Flischel, MD
Charles Knapp, MD

1st Allergen Bee (Dallas/ October 2010)
Michael Sheehan, MD  from Indiana University.


American Contact Dermatitis Society
2323 North State Street #30, Bunnell, FL 32110 USA
(386) 437-4405, Fax (386) 437-4427